The Central American and Caribbean Games (CAC) are a multi-sport regional championships event, held once in the Olympic quadrennial (every 4 years), typically in the middle (even) year between Summer Olympics. The Games are for countries in Central America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Bermuda, and the South American countries of Surinam, Guyana, Colombia and Venezuela.

The Games are overseen by the Central American and Caribbean Sports Organization (CACSO) (the organization also goes by the acronym "ODECABE", from its full Spanish name: Organización Deportiva Centroamericana y del Caribe). They are designed to provide a step between sub-CAC-region Games held the first year following a Summer Olympics (e.g. CARIFTA Games) and the Continental Championships, the Pan American Games, held the year before the Summer Olympics.

The CAC Games are the oldest continuing regional games in the world, and only the Olympics have run longer. Mexico, Cuba and Guatemala were the three countries present at the first games, which were then called the Central American Games. In 1935 their name was changed to Central American and Caribbean Games to reflect expanding participation.

The most recent CAC Games occurred in July 2010 in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico. The next edition will take place in July 2014 in Veracruz, Mexico.

Cayman first competed in the CAC Games in 1986 and have won a total of 12 medals – 3 gold, 2 silver and 6 bronze.

Veracruz 2014

Veracruz 2014
The Cayman Islands Olympic Committee participate in the Veracruz 2014 Central American and Caribbean Games (CAC) in Veracruz, Mexico from November 15th to 30th. The Games are an international mul...
Continue reading
1504 Hits
Cayman Islands Olympic Committee

CIOC Sponsors & Partners. Building Hope for Gold Partner: Charles & Sian Jennings.

Decosimo Accountants

Caledonian Bank and Trust

Baraud International

Greenlight Reinsurance

Maples and Calder